Guest post by Kameron Hurley: Why I Stopped Writing About White People

Kameron Hurley

Kameron Hurley

For today’s guest post, I’m proud to welcome Kameron Hurley, whose new epic fantasy novel The Mirror Empire is (deservedly) making all kinds of waves.

Aside from The Mirror Empire, she is also the author of the award- winning God’s War Trilogy, comprising the books God’s War, Infidel, and Rapture. She has won the Hugo Award, Kitschy Award, and Sydney J. Bounds Award for Best Newcomer. Hurley has also been a finalist for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, Nebula Award, the Locus Award, BFS Award, and the BSFA Award for Best Novel. Her short fiction has appeared in Lightspeed Magazine, Year’s Best SF, EscapePod, The Lowest Heaven, and the upcoming Mammoth Book of SF Stories by Women.

Please enjoy this thought-provoking guest post from one of today’s most talented and hard-working authors.

Continue reading

Posted in Guest post | Tagged , | 9 Comments

Giveaway Winner! (The Midnight Queen giveaway)

TheMidnightQueenAnd the winner of last week’s giveaway is…

*drum roll*

*tears open the envelope*

Patti S. of Winchester, TN

Congratulations, Patti! Your copy of The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter will be mailed to you by the kind folks at Ace Books.

For those of you who didn’t win, stay tuned as I hope to have several other great giveaways coming up soon, as well as the usual slew of reviews and SF/F-related ramblings!

Posted in Giveaways | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Lookin’ Good: Upgraded by Neil Clarke (Ed.)

UpgradedI’m just going to list a few names here, and then you can tell me whether you want this anthology or not, okay? Here we go. Elizabeth Bear. Benjanun Sriduangkaew. Yoon Ha Lee. Need more? Okay. Ken Liu. Peter Watts. E. Lily Yu. I can keep going for a while, you know.

Alright, fine, I’ll wait while you go order Upgraded, the new, Kickstarter-funded anthology edited by Clarkesworld mastermind Neil Clarke.

Upgraded is billed as “an anthology of original cyborg stories edited by a cyborg. Stronger. Better. Faster. We will rebuild you.” With a stunning cover by Hugo Award-winning artist Julie Dillon, this looks like a must-read for anyone interested in SF short stories in general and cyborgs in particular.

Here’s the full Table of Contents:

Continue reading

Posted in News and Other SFF-Related Ramblings | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Mini-review: Night Terrors by Tim Waggoner

NightTerrorsTim Waggoner’s new novel Night Terrors introduces Audra and Jinx, together maybe the oddest buddy cop duo I’ve ever seen. For one, they’re both agents of the Shadow Watch, a, well, shadowy supernatural organization tasked with patrolling the border between our world and the Nod, the realm of dreams and (most notably) nightmares.

Audra is a human agent who works for the Shadow Watch. Jinx is not human: actually, he’s an Incubus dreamed up by Audra. You see, Audra used to have terrifying nightmares about a scary clown sitting at the foot of her bed. Then those nightmares became real, in the form of Jinx: an insanely cheerful ultra-violent clown complete with huge flip-floppy shoes, make-up, and a flower in his lapel. (The flower can be used to spit acid at his enemies.)

Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Horror, Reviews | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Giveaway: The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter

TheMidnightQueenThanks to the kind people at Ace Books, I have one copy of The Midnight Queen by Sylvia Izzo Hunter to give away to one lucky reader in the US.

From the publisher:

Gray Marshall and his friends from Oxford’s Merlin College, a school for magic theory and practice, went out into town around midnight when carelessness and drunk townspeople strike, resulting in a dead student. Suspended from the College that summer, Gray is under the watchful eye of the domineering Professor Callender. Until one afternoon, while working in the professor’s garden, he meets his daughter.

Sophie Callender wants nothing more than to be educated in magic, even if being a female student is unheard of in the community. But secretly, against her father and society’s wishes, she has spent countless lonely hours studying the ancient volumes on the subject. Now with the arrival of the lanky, tall, and yet oddly charming Gray, she finally finds someone who can encourage her interest and awaken new ideas and feelings. Between them, they forge a beautiful and touching relationship that sets off a series of events that begin to unravel secrets about one another —and that fateful night at Oxford.

Perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, or Naomi Novik’s Temeraire series, The Midnight Queen is a historical fantasy that perfectly blends magic with Regency England. I would love to send you a NetGalley widget to consider for feature attention in September; the author is also available for guest posts and interviews.

To enter this giveaway, simply send an email with subject line “MIDNIGHT” to fbrgiveaway AT gmail DOT com with your full name and mailing address. One entry per person, please: multiple entries will result in immediate disqualification, but please feel free to tell your friends! Please note again that, at the publisher’s request, this giveaway is limited to the US only.

The giveaway will end on Sunday, September 7th at 11:59 PM. Void where prohibited by law, rules are subject to change, batteries not included, and of course, harmful when swallowed.

Posted in Giveaways | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Mini-Review: Veil of the Deserters by Jeff Salyards

VeiloftheDesertersScourge of the Betrayer by Jeff Salyards was one of 2012’s most pleasant surprises in the fantasy field. The novel put a surprising twist on the burgeoning grimdark sub-genre by using an unexpected narrator, the inexperienced, bookish, somewhat timid scribe (Arkamondos) to recount the violent and blood-soaked adventures of a band of foul-mouthed Syldoon soldiers.

What happens when a young man, whose main experience in life consists of transcribing letters and maintaining ledgers for merchants, suddenly finds himself as the embedded reporter for a group of battle-hardened fighters who appear to be bent on causing mayhem in his homeland, for as yet unknown reasons? This is the story Jeff Salyards started in Scourge of the Betrayer (my review) and now, two years later, continues in Veil of the Deserters.

Continue reading

Posted in Fantasy, Reviews | Tagged , | 5 Comments

Mind Meld: Should Unfinished Series Remain Unfinished?

I made a small contribution to SF Signal‘s latest Mind Meld: “What’s Your Take on Author Legacies? Should Unfinished Series Remain Unfinished?” You can find my answer (and several other folks’ answers) here at SF Signal!

Also: I’m still here! It’s been quiet at Far Beyond Reality lately, mainly because of some craziness going on in my personal life that’s seriously cut into my reading and writing time. However, I am planning to start posting reviews again soon, probably shorter ones than before because of lack of time, but still — some new book-related ramblings should be forthcoming soon! Ish. Meanwhile, thanks for your patience.

Posted in News and Other SFF-Related Ramblings | Tagged | Leave a comment